DIY inspiration

May 23, 2012 § Leave a comment

I can’t say I am creative as I think I am. Often, I find a lot of my inspiration through other blogs online, pictures or Pinterest. My week has been very hectic and I hate to admit it but I haven’t had time to create a blog post with a craft for the day. I thought I would take sometime today to tell you about three of my favorite websites/blogs where I come across inspiration for the items I make!

First, The Beauty Department!

This blog is written by Lauren Conrad, Kristin Ess (LC’s hairstylist) and Amy Nadine (LC’s makeup stylist)! At first some may be a little hesitant to take all sorts of beauty, fashion and DIY advice from a girl from MTV’s hit shows Laguna Beach and The Hills, but do not let this stand in your way! I cannot say how much I love looking at their blog. Not only do they provide useful information about DIY, they also talk about fashion, hair, beauty as well as things like etiquette, packing tips and health tips. This blog is perfect for women of all ages and is a great blog to have in your reserves.

Second, I Spy DIY

This blog is (almost) strictly about fashion. A cool aspect about this blog is the fact that she [Jenni] tries to makes posts about crafts that won’t break the bank. Maybe I like this blog because it has a similar concept to my own? Another thing that I like so much about this blog is that she takes inspiration from current fashion and celebrities. This is nice because we all know its a bit tough to spend $$$ on a simple friendship bracelet that we learned how to make when we were 5 years old.

Last, but not least, Martha Stewart

I don’t think anyone could talk about DIY or crafting without mentioning Martha Stewart. As cliche as it may sound, she is the “godfather” or should I say “godmother” of DIY. If you are ever in a rut or need a quick DIY Marthastewart.com is the place to turn. Her crafts range from holiday decorations to crafts that one could recreate with children. (This is really helpful for summer babysitters!) Not only does her site post crafts, but the other sections include, food, entertaining, weddings, holiday, pets, home & garden and more! Her website is very organized and also has a search bar if you can’t find what you are looking for. I don’t think many people could deny the usefulness of Martha Stewart’s website…. she is Martha Stewart after all!

I hope this post helped you come up with some websites/blogs to reference when you are in need of some new and innovative DIY ideas!

Do you have any favorite blogs?

Happy Crafting!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading DIY inspiration at craftycollegiate.

meta

